Trilateral Commission

Official Info The Trilateral Commission was formed in 1973 by private citizens of Japan, Europe (European Union countries), and North America (United States and Canada) to foster closer cooperation among these core industrialized areas of the world with shared leadership responsibilities in the wider international system.
  • the most immediate purpose was to draw together—at a time of considerable friction among governments
  • The “growing interdependence” that so impressed the founders of the Trilateral Commission in the early 1970s has deepened into “globalization.”
  • helping our countries fulfill their shared leadership responsibilities in the wider international system
    • The idea of a unifying Europe playing a larger role on the global stage has been a driving idea in the Trilateral Commission from the beginning.
  • David Rockefeller … played a central role in the formation of the Trilateral Commission and continues to be recognized as founder and honorary chairman
  • A grant from the Ford Foundation was the most important part of the financial base for the Trilateral Commission

Founding Members

David Rockefeller was the principal founder of the Trilateral Commission in mid-1973. He served on the executive committee and was North American chairman from mid-1977 through November 1991. He is now honorary chairman and a lifetime trustee of the Commission.

Zbigniew Brzezinski played an important role in the formation of the Commission and served as its first director from 1973 to 1976. After serving in the Carter administration, Dr. Brzezinski rejoined the Commission in 1981 and served on the executive committee until 2009.

Three Regions

  • European Union
    • Now Includes:
      • Austria
      • Belgium
      • Bulgaria
      • Croatia
      • Republic of Cyprus
      • Czech Republic
      • Denmark
      • Estonia
      • Finland
      • France
      • Germany
      • Greece
      • Hungary
      • Ireland
      • Italy
      • Latvia
      • Lithuania
      • Luxembourg
      • Malta
      • Netherlands
      • Poland
      • Portugal
      • Romania
      • Slovakia
      • Slovenia
      • Spain
      • Sweden
      • United Kingdom
    • Click here to download the European Region Membership List.
  • Asia-Pacific Union
    • Now includes:
      • Japan
      • South Korea
      • Australia
      • Indonesia
      • Malaysia
      • Philippines
      • Singapore
      • Thailand
      • New Zealand
      • China
      • India
    • Click here to download the Asia Pacific Membership List.

Unofficial Info

Goal: Develop 3 Regional Unions, later to be combined into a single world government… A New World Order